Aircooled Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
For those of you who have been following my build thread you know I am new to drag racing VWs but loving it! The car is running high 9s in an 1/8th mile but my 60ft times are terrible and the front end doesn't really pick up at all. Here's what I'm working with.

Engine is a 1600 turbo, probably around 100-110 hp. Best mph so far is 72.8 in around a 2000 lb car. Best Et is a 9.77 and it runs at 9.80 consistently. From playing with Wallace racing calculators it seems that the mph suggests my Et should be lower than what it is.

Suspension is stock rear and front is 2.5" drop spindles, thicker sway bar, and some really stiff bug pack lowered shocks. Car is a 1970 standard bug, stripped interior with two seats. No spare tire. Front tires are 185/65-15 rears are 195/65-15. Street tires all the way around.

I really think the car has the power in it to run low 9s in the 1/8th on the low amount of boost it is pushing currently but I can't get it off the line hard. If I jack the front end up my front wheels barely drop. My ride is super stiff.

Where do I start? The car 60fts 2.0-2.2 consistently with an occasional 1.8-1.9. If I could get it down to a 1.7 and a 9.30ish ET consistently on street tires I would be happy.

My plan is to ditch the lowered shocks for something that actually lets the front end lift on launch. I would like a 90/10 but I am confused about them. Lots of reading says the competition engineering ones are really just Chrysler v8 ones and are still too stiff for a Vw front end. I've heard to use a stock oil shock drilled out but can't find any oil shocks at my local parts stores. Junkyards are out of old bugs right now too.